Website Manager

News Detail


Jun, 2018

Japan set to host Pony Asia-Pacific Zone Championships

Okinawa, Japan will serve as the epicenter of the PONY Asia-Pacific Zone for the next five days, as six teams spanning the Eastern Hemisphere battle for supremacy at the Pony Asia-Pacific Zone Championships. Played at Atom Home Stadium Ginowan and Ginowan Citizen's Square Ballpark, the Pony Asia-Pacific Zone Championships will feature Australia, Chinese Taipei, India, Japan, Korea and Thailand in 18 games to determine who will receive the Zone's automatic bid to the DICK'S Sporting Goods Pony World Series in Washington, Pennsylvania later this summer.

Following the tournament's opening ceremonies Monday morning, the teams will participate in round robin competition for three days before starting the semifinals on Thursday. The Pony Asia-Pacific Zone Championship Game is scheduled for Friday at 9 a.m. View the tournament's official schedule below:

Seoul, Korea represented the Asia-Pacific Zone at the 2017 DICK'S Sporting Goods Pony World Series and finished as the tournament's finalist, after the Pony Asia-Pacific Zone Championships were flooded due to a typhoon. Chinese Taipei hopes to reclaim the Zone's title after winning it in back-to-back-to-back years from 2014-16. During that same span, Chinese Taipei won two Pony World Series titles and finished in second-place in 2014. In 2013, Okinawa, Japan used the momentum from its Pony Asia-Pacific Zone championship to win the nation of Japan its first-ever Pony World Series title. 

Follow along at, and on PONY Baseball and Softball's social media for additional content from the tournament all week long.

PONY Baseball and Softball

1951 Pony Place, 
P.O. Box 225
Washington, Pennsylvania 15301
Copyright © 2022 Pony- Asia Pacific Zone  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Login